He purchased a Korean restaurant

After tantalizing you with all those food pictures, my Korean husband has finally purchased a Korean restaurant. (It was just our horrid luck that the purchase was finalized right when COVID hit the United States. We went through ups and down before we opened to curbside this past summer.)

Now, my husband is the proud owner and chef of his own restaurant, working 7 days a week, 10 hours a day at his (our) restaurant.

If you read any of my previous blogs before, he’s a bit of a Chef Ramsey and an a**h*** in the kitchen. That’s his domain and you do not go into it unless you can handle his temperament. Although he’s stern with his staff, there is a level of respect that he has garner from them because he loves mentoring them and giving those with potential the learning opportunities to move up in their position.

He said that there’s a reason why a lot of chefs are perfectionist, OCD, and a**h*** in the kitchen – because food could be life and nourishment or death if prepared wrong.

I never thought about it that way. I always thought of food as just food. Growing up poor, it was just a quick meal to fill my starving belly. Then when I started working and had my own money, I gorged on fast food that I had always wanted but couldn’t afford.

Well, we are on to our next journey. Wish us luck and success as we really need it during COVID!

Leave a comment