Korean Husband Learns Hmong Science Lesson – Moon Pointing

During our first cruise with my family, we visited New Orleans for two days where the cruise ship was docked.

The almost full moon was a fixture in the New Orleans night sky while we were there.

Korean husband learns from Hmong wife: new orleans with moon in sky

Looking out our hotel window to the full moon in the night sky.

In the past, I have informed my husband that Hmong people DO NOT point to the moon.

Our belief: If you point to the moon, behind your ears will hurt.

Common ailment from moon pointing: slit/crack/pain/sting behind the ear

New Orleans French Quarter:
My husband would try to trick us into pointing at the moon. He would gaze up in the sky and give someone a puzzled look before asking, “Where is the moon?” the same way he would ask what time it is. It’s human nature to want to answer his question… by pointing to the moon. Luckily, we catch ourselves in time.

Korean husband learns from Hmong wife

Front of cruise ship at night with full moon shinning at distance.

On The Cruise Ship:

One night, my husband kept pointing to the moon to tease us. My brother told him not to test the Hmong myth. My brother is not superstitious but too many times have been burned by moon pointing that he doesn’t want to test it again.

My husband says that since he’s Korean, he’s immune to the moon myth. Since he’s married to me, I believe he has been welcomed into the Hmong world, real or otherwise spiritual.

My husband asked how could the moon possibly even cause the ear to hurt.

My BS explanation:
When you point to the moon, there is an increase in the moons gravitational pull, concentrating behind your ear, creating either a slit/crack or something that will cause pain.

My husband laughed and asked me what that is about. I replied that it’s Hmong Science. (…not really.)

The next evening, while sitting down to dinner with my siblings, my husband gave me a sheepish smile. He needed a favor later in our cabin. He has developed an increasingly, growing, painful pimple since early morning. Quick scan of his face revealed no pimple of such description. He shyly confessed to us.

My husband has a big pimple behind one of his ears!!!  There was plenty of “I told you so!” stares directed towards him.

After dinner, while sitting on the deck with my brother, they discussed the moon myth again. Coincidence? Maybe…

My husband felt the moon bested him somehow.

How dare the moon make him a laughingstock! (My husband was putting on a good show of frustration.)  Profane insults were hurled at the moon and my husband decided to show the moon what his impression is of the moon, this of course included his middle finger.

The NEXT morning… another pimple …behind the other ear!!!

This is what he has to say now: “Don’t f*** with Hmong science!!!” ….and don’t give the moon the finger.

He learned his lesson.

 

533875_192240250945688_56620049_n

Leave a comment